celebrate pants

Standard

So I’m loving the celebrate the boy posts on Made and Made by Rae. I mainly sew for the little boys in my life, so the inspiration is always welcome.

To join in the celebration I’ve once again put a cut out project for me on the back burner. Kids cloths are just way more fun some times. Since the littles have both had a growth spurt their pants are looking like floods. K will pull on a pair in the morning then we all laugh as K dances around in his too short pants.

yep he's already dirty

yep he’s already dirty

The first pair to come together are the field trip cargo pants from Oliver + S. This is my first time using the pattern, and I found it nice and easy with good directions. Mock flys will no longer be a mystery to me !

cargo4

I used a yummy soft interlock knit, from my local shop Sundrop Textiles, ( if you live in the Vancouver area this is a great shop,) and an old hoodie material for the dark brown patches. 

cargo3

This is also my first attempt at darts (in the knee pieces and cargo pockets) for some reason I had them filed under difficult in my head and they are not.  The cargo pocket turned out ok, for a first attempt. The interlock is quite a thick fabric, so it was tricky to keep the iron lines and shape while sewing them on. I chose to skip the top flap, they just annoy and frustrate my 2 yr old when he is adding stuff to his pockets. 

cargoback

I used the ribbing on the hoodie for the waist, copying lil’ E most comfy store  bought pants. and now i think I’ll have to stuff some elastic in there too, his pants kept riding low at the park today *sigh.

falling down pants

falling down pants

We all know the best part about this crazy sewing stuff  we do is when our kids like what we made. Lil’ E just loves these pants he is pocket crazy and walks around with his hands in the side pockets. His big smile lets you know he feels so special having something made just for him.

cargokapow

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: one great pant deserves another | Lemons are for Licking

  2. Pingback: Cargo Pants | Lemons are for Licking

Leave a Reply

