colour blocked maxi dress

Standard

With summer comes summer dresses.

I’ve been checking out the 30 days of summer over at Melly Sews, if you haven’t had a peek you really should. I was got all inspired as I usually do when clicking threw blogs. But it was actually my teen who convinced me to make a maxi length sundress. We were out at target, I was still on the fence with the whole trend. I tend to get a bit stuck in  the familiar….and on the hangers the maxi dresses all look a bit like a granny nightie. Well she made me try 6 different dresses, and by the end of our little shopping trip I was ready to make one.

maxi1

The bodice was drafted off of a tank top, and the skirt loosely followed a tutorial put up by Melly Sews for a maxi dress (find it here). The hi-low hem is a trend I like, it feels all fun and rompy.

Because I was copying the bodice off an existing shirt  and needed to free hand the skirt, I cut the bodice out first. BIG mistake do not do this to your lovely thin silky jersey knit you got on sale. Because if you do you will not have enough material left to make a skirt ! even a neat hi-low skirt ! A impromptu trip to the fabric store got me nowhere cuz the bolt was sold out ( ok not totally nowhere there was new stuff on the sale table … reminder to self go check for more sale knits this week) that is when my maxi dress turned into a colour block maxi dress yay!!  Colour block to the rescue !!

maxispin

Thankfully even with all the chaos the dress turned out

And its fun to twirl in !

maxispun

 

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: More muscles | Lemons are for Licking

  2. Pingback: Back at it….? | Lemons are for Licking

  3. Pingback: A striped shirt for me | Lemons are for Licking

Leave a Reply

