Green Lanturn hoodie

Standard

Since I haven’t been at the machine in weeks and it looks like more weeks will pass before I sew anything, I thought I would post an old project. Now it was blogged on a previous site  (i changed the name of my blog in Jan) but better a re-do than a no post.

superhoodie

I made this hoodie for K last fall, and he was all excited to wear it to school this past week.  I love when the littles enjoy there home made designs.  I’m also gonna post this in the sew geeky pool too. if you don’t know what that is please go check it out its so awesome. I am a geek who sews and just love this series by Max California and Sew Chibi.

DSC05999 (640x427)

The fabric is all up-cycled hoodies and T-shirts. It was my first attempt at a jacket so naturally I added the complexity of lining it. If ya look close you can see the imperfections. BUT Mr. K loves it ! Who wouldn’t love a Green Lantern Hoddie. It’s based on this Green Lantern costume from the newer Justice League. Which was a bigger decision than you may realize. He has had many costume variations over the years.

Green-Lantern-Justice-League-New-52-action-figure

The pattern was some old 80’s pattern  inherited from a somewhere. I’ll never use a kids pattern from the 80’s again working the fit was yukki, it was so big and baggy in ways I’m not used to. So save yourself the trouble and just use an awesome blogger’s pattern !

DSC05980

I do confess it became a bit of a me against the garment kinda roller coaster project. Sew feel great…try on have it be too big, feel sad…. rework fit….rip out again….sew feel great….add zipper ….hate zipper…mess with lining….question why I sew… see progres….feel encouraged….

greenaplicae

The applicae was hard. I was really worried about it matching up right so I did it after the zipper. Not sure if that was a good idea, working close into the zipper was tricky. It does line up nicely. At the end of it all I got a complement from my lovely teen “Its nice Mom, you can tell its homemade, but it looks home made in a good way.”

superhoodie21

I learned a tone from this project and again K loves it. which is the point of it all right. Cool custom stuff that they love and will wear. The lining makes the jacket stretch from fall into winter here on the rainy west coast so it has seen a tone of wear over the past year and is still in one piece.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Cargo Pants | Lemons are for Licking

  2. Pingback: New Shirts | Lemons are for Licking

Leave a Reply

