Vacation Slippers

Standard

We were recently on a family trip to our home town. And that mean lots of driving, straight threw the Rockies. For me that means yarn crafts to pass the time. I just can’t sit still, so I crochet.

booties2

I made a pair of my leather bottomed booties for our newest babies in the extended family. They came together so quickly that I started a pair for K.

booties3

I love making slippers with leather bottoms, you can wear them on the porch and stuff. This time on K’s pair I got a bit more adventurous. Instead of building off the leather base, I added it to a crocheted bottom. The hardwood and tile seem chilly already at the new house, and we are just starting the rainy season, so I figured the added layer would keep his toes all snug.

in k's fav colour green!

in k’s fav colour green!

I will admit it was a bit tricky making a kid foot size. Being used to fat little baby feet and all. the technique is not perfected yet. They did come together he likes them so I started a pair for lil’ E too. They are sadly not done the scenery was too beautiful so I watched the landscape instead of crocheting.

booties6

I planned to finishes E’s ASAP when we got home but they are still not done so the post is going up as is 🙂 You can see the inside all cozy and lines with wool, and I included a shot of the leather soles.

booties7

I’ll leave you with some highway views, the snapshots d=off my phone really don’t do the beauty of the landscapes justice. There are taken from the western coastal mountains of Canada into the prairies and back again.

viewsviews3views2views5views4

Our majestic peaks to out wide open prairie skies !

One response »

Leave a Reply

