KCWC day 6 skater shorts

Standard

hellooo,

All of the sewing today (day 6) has been on a different project than the one I am chronicling here. I finished these last night, and am so pleased with the way they turned out. Can’t hardly believe I started them last summer, but that my friends is the truth. The poor project got tossed aside in moving frenzies. Forgotten. Until last week when I was combing through my fabric stash on day 2 of KCW. I got ridiculously excited I remembered them and crossed my fingers that they would still fit at least one of my boys.

The pattern is blank slate pants. Which is just an awesome pattern that everyone should have in their arsenal (more on that later.)   It features some amazingly cute details that I never thought I could pull off. Such as welt pockets ! check them out !

kcwc2014skateshortdetails4

Now, I use very little patterns in my sewing. Why you ask? Well I have bought traditional patterns for work scrubs and sweaters for myself in the past; long before this blog. And the results we often ill fitting (usually way to big then my attempt to fix them would make it weirder so I was basically wasting my time and $$) or there were instructions and pieces that I just couldn’t figure out. So I’d get all frustrated and give up 😛

Sewing blogs taught me how to copy cloths for my kids from their existing wardrobe. The results were sometimes odd but the material was free old t-shirts and the time spent was small. As my skills have increased I recently dived into patterns again but this time from trusted bloggers that have been teaching me over the past few years through their awesome tutorials.  Blank Slate Patterns are fantastic ! Easy to follow picture instructions laid out just like a tutorial.

ckwc2014skateshort1

So I want to give a big shout out to Melissa from Melly Sews, Melissa is a madly talented seamstress and this pattern is great ! Lots of optional detail, and her fit charts are always my favorite. I can fit my lean boys easily in waist and length, totally customizable size wise.

ckwk2014skateshorts

I made a size 5 to fit my slim Mr. K in the waist and went with a 7 in the length for a board short look.  I totally feel like a sewing rock star because I made ‘ welt pockets’ for the first time !  And how cute they look on this little guy’s shorts. The teen daughter was even impressed and said I should make a matching pair for lil’ E, which I may cuz i love matching them up.

I chose to do a mock fly with snap in place of a button. Brave enough for pockets but not for a zippered fly yet.

ckwc2014skateshortdetails

The length did work out ok even this a winter of growth spurting between the start and the finish. I do tend to cut things long by a few inches whenever I make something, and it worked to my advantage, even rolled they are an ok length. I do think they are so cute, the fabric is this crazy woven stuff I picked up with scrubs in mind. They checks give a nice subtle sophistication. We could almost pretend its suiting material.

some serious pouting going on

some serious pouting going on

So far K hates these pants, he believes that it is to early for shorts. It took much convincing to get him to wear them for hem placement fitting. And almost a melt down to get him out in the april sunshine for a few photos. Hopefully he will like them by the end of may.

 

 

2 responses »

  1. You are so cute Jodi. The things that get you excited. Maybe we should go in together to get you a new serger eh????

Leave a Reply

