A striped shirt for me

Standard

Once again I’m posting long after a project has been done, worn and washed. So its not really a spring top sew along project, but this is as good a time as any to blog it don’t ya think will all the shirts posts going on. Any way I guess the good thing is that I can talk honestly about weather or not the garment works as real wearable clothing. This time its a shirt for me. I drafted the pattern off a store bought T-shirt that I love the fit of.  And it turned out great (Yes the original is long sleeved too) I often alter or smoosh 2 patterns together so it was nice to see that I can do a straight copy and have it fit all yummy like the original.Its not too tight with a slight tapering in the waist area. This creates a easy fit that is still flattering to my curves.

stripeT2

I got this fabric during the knit sale this past summer at my local store. Click here here and here to see other projects that have come out of the same sale. I am also not letting myself buy any other knits until I’ve sew threw a bunch of my stash. Sew many plans sew little time. 🙂

stripeT1

Anyway the fabric is great,  its a ribbed knit with lots of  stretch, so I used a zig-zag stitch and the serger.  The bottom hem is not hemmed at all, its a strait serge left raw. It looks finished and its fast. I do tend to cut a few corners in the name of ease and speed. And on this project I cut where ever I could. I’m kinda short on long sleeved shirts in the wardrobe this winter. (told ya it was a long gone sew, its spring already)

stripeT5I chose not to hem at all, it the name of ease and speed. Instead on the cuffs and neckline I used some leftover Fold Over Elastic (FOE.) I had it kicking around from when I had made some cloth diapers. I have used it before on the boys pant legs and what not. It’s like bias tape but stretchy, and can be a great way to make something look finished with little time.  Awesome right?

the circulation in my arm it cutting off aaaahhh

the circulation in my arm it cutting off aaaahhh

Wrong ! It was great for the neckline and solves some if the fussiness of broken stitches and ironing. However I made the wrists too tight, the elastic gets annoying when you push em’ up. And I do tend to push em’ up when I wash dishes, wipe up a mess…. um…. constantly. I may rip it out and hem up the sleeves regular style. In the mean time I’ve been stretching at them, hoping to relax the elastic a bit.

All in all I wear this shirt frequently, and still love it after a whole season. I plan on making a summer shirt project out of this fabric too.

 

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: New Shirts | Lemons are for Licking

Leave a Reply

