FirePower Mario

Standard

Our boys want to be game characters this Halloween. K chose his favorite Mario. (E’s costume post can be found here) I was excited Mario wouldn’t be too hard to pull together, some overalls and a red shirt. I figured a trip to the thrift store, a box store for the hat and Ta-Da Mario. I was wrong. I combed the whole thrift store not 1 pair of overalls.

When I told K that I would be sewing his costume he was so excited because that meant he could be FirePower Mario.

hallomaroi2

The pants pattern is blank slate pants, it really is my go to pattern. I adapted it to make it fit big in the tummy, because our plumber friend is a bit tubby, and drafted the bib and pockets.  Some sneaky snaps were added at the sides to keep Mario’s tummy stuffing in. The fit turned out ok, it is a bit odd fitting on the sides and even with the snaps there is on odd Gap. But all in all I’m pleased with the way they turned out.

hallomario5

It was really fun it whip it all up, there was lots of short cut taking so it was fast and fun. The fabric is an old curtain so I could use existing hems for the top of the pockets. Pocket ironing and adjusting can be so tedious. The backs pockets are short cut city,  a close zig-zag stitch was all that was used, no ironing nothing.  lol it only has to last a day. The other great short cut was the straps, no ironing or folding there either. Its the top hem of the curtain where you would put a rod threw them. I trimmed it off zig-zagged the raw edge and voila straps. If you look close enough you can even see that the buttons don’t match lol.

hallomario4

The hat on the other hand … not so quick and fun. I found the idea intimidating. See I was concerned about the how Mario’s hat sort of stands up a bit, and its sort of  puffy. Having never made any hats really and thinking that interfacing or something would be needed to poof it up, I started racking my brain for a solution.  The idea was to cardboard and the glue gun and it would be easy. Like a construction paper crown but Mario-ized …WRONG 🙂 …more like a demented chef had. So thanks to this nice YouTuber and her tutorial I sewed up a great little mario cap.

hallomario3

At the suggestion of a friend “Fire Power Mario ! cool ! what is he going to throw?” and since I am on a craft rampage at the moment, I decided why not make him a Fireball to toss. This time my glue gun was my friend. The fireball is simply felt and fluff and fun!

Also because kids in mustaches are fun, I want to share this crazed blurry photo. Little E is almost like a Wario in the back ground 😀 He randomly ran threw a few shots sporting his own mustache.

hallomariomen

One response »

  1. Pingback: Halloween !!!! Oh How I love Halloween !! | Lemons are for Licking

Leave a Reply

